Announcements / September 2017

USCRI Urges Administration to Continue to Admit Immigrants & Refugees from 8 Countries

Topic / /

On September 24, 2017, the President announced revised travel restrictions for immigrants from eight countries including the Muslim-majority countries of Syria, Somalia, Iran, Libya, Yemen, and Chad as well as North Korea and Venezuela. According to reports, the restrictions do not apply to refugees who are subject to “separate screening and processing requirements,” but could still impact refugees’ families and communities. The U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants (USCRI) opposes the revised restrictions and urges the Administration to continue to admit immigrants and refugees from the eight countries. “USCRI continues to reject policies that reflect the President’s desire to impose a Muslim ban. Our nation’s immigration policies should not discriminate,” said USCRI President and CEO Lavinia Limon. USCRI additionally urged the Administration to not apply the ban to refugees in its expected announcement on refugee admissions. “We cannot abandon Syrians in their time of greatest need, Somali refugees who have been waiting in camps in Kenya for decades, and Iranians seeking freedom, ” said Limon. In FY 2016, the U.S. admitted refugees from 7 of the 8 countries. National security experts attest that refugees are the most rigorously screened travelers to the U.S.

Related content

See More Posts